En Papillote Lemon, Garlic Hake with Sweet Potatoes

Without a doubt fish is one of my favorite foods on earth! In fact, I can’t think of a single fish I’ve tried that I haven’t liked (that include you anchovies.) I am always on the lookout for different ways to prepare this beautiful ingredient.

Countless times I have salivated over  en papilotte recipes, a method of steaming food in parchment paper common in Europe, and intended to try these recipes but just never got around to it. Ya know how that goes…

The truth is that there are few simpler cooking methods. Anyone who is interested in getting into cooking but have yet to get over the single obstacle of actually giving a recipe a try would be wise to start here because it is simple,  uninvolved, and fun!

The idea behind this dish is the beauty of simplicity. The more foods I taste the more I come to understand that often, ya can’t do better than a little olive oil, lemon, salt, and pepper.

003

 

Ingredients:

  • Hake
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 lemon slices
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1 large garlic clove, chopped

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

If you have a mandolin, beautiful, if not don’t worry! Just slice the potato width wise as thin as you can.

Cut a piece of parchment paper large enough to fold filet in, err on the side of it being too large. Arrange potato slices, overlapping to form a bed on which to place filet. Lay fish over potatoes, drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Place lemon slices on top of fish.

006

Fold the edges of the parchment paper over the fish length wise as though you’re wrapping a gift (because you are Smile). Next, fold the open ends up to seal the packet.

Here’s the trick I learned from my dad, staple the edges of the parchment paper! Easy peasy, and you don’t have to worry about the parchment staying sealed.

Notes:

Your cooking time will vary based on the fish you use. If using a heartier fish such as salmon, expect a longer cooking time.

As I prepared this dish I called my parents, they randomly happened to be preparing en papilotte fish as well! What are the chances! They each prepared theirs their own way.

This would be a perfect kid-friendly recipe! This all inclusive meal let’s you throw any veggies, potatoes or seasoning in the packet you want!

For my parents that meant tomatoes, squash, brussel sprouts and garlic for my dad and lemon, rosemary, salt, and pepper for my mom. For the little one’s they can pick out and toss in their favorites, wrap theirs up and call it their own!

Place the packet on a baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes or until fish is cooked through.

Have you ever made an En Papillote dish? How do you like to make your? Links please!!!

What are you doing this weekend? Who’s racing?

About Anne @ CandyCrazedrun.wordpress.com

Why Hello There! My name is Anne, I am a “Young Professional” working in Finance. I am slightly obsessed with running, candy, food, and eating whole foods. Join me in documenting my obsessions and hopefully pick up some tips along the way!
This entry was posted in Goodness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

